The Tobacco Company Restaurant
1201 East Cary Street
Opens at 4PM
In 1973, Jearald Cable saw the potential of the Shockoe Slip and developed what is now The Tobacco Company Restaurant. The interior’s focal point was to be a three-story atrium with an exposed antique elevator to carry guest from the first floor cocktail lounge to the two dining floors above.
The building, once a tobacco warehouse, dates back to 1866; all brickwork, heavy beams, and columns are original to the building. The space was renovated and opened as The Tobacco Company Restaurant in July 1977.
Once construction was completed, the search for unique and unusual furnishings for the restaurant began. One of the most recognizable antiques is our magnificent brass chandelier that originally hung in the lobby of the Federal Reserve Bank in Cincinnati. The antique brass elevator was made by Otis Elevator Company for the Con Edison building in New York. The clock hanging on the outside corner near the entrance is from the &P National Bank and was made by H.B. McClintock in Minneapolis. The grand walnut staircase was salvaged from the old St. Luke’s Hospital in Richmond. Our wooden Native American chief was carved by a craftsman in South Carolina and the hostess desk on the first floor was an old train station ticket booth purchased at an Atlanta auction.
The Tobacco Company Restaurant is now a multifaceted entertainment and dining show place. The four story restaurant boasts two distinct dining floors, a cocktail lounge with live music, and a popular night club and dance floor. With all of these options in one place, you never even have to leave the building!